Gluten Free Getaway: Disney, Day 3

Admittedly I did not take pictures of every food item I put in my mouth at Walt Disney World. There are some things that are just not remarkable, like an omelette or some fruit, which often substituted as a quick breakfast for us on the way to the parks. On day three we went to Magic Kingdom, or home as we like to call it. Any Disney lover will tell you, as soon as you see Cinderella Castle you immediately feel happy and lighter, like you are truly where you are meant to be. We had a nice and bright sunny day, crowds were manageable and spirits were high. We did encounter the issue of multiple rides being down for technical difficulties at the same time. Splash Mountain, Space Mountain and Haunted Mansion all went down at the same time. We took this opportunity to shop and do Jungle Cruise until Splash Mountain was back up and we were able to ride.

Going into this trip we knew one thing, we had to dine at Be Our Guest.  Neither of us had ever eaten there, it’s nearly impossible to get a reservation, we needed to know what the hype was about! We were able to get a lunch reservation at Be Our Guest so it was considered a quick service meal and the Beast was not present. When you get inside the castle you stand in a line which leads up to an attendant who directs you to a kiosk where you order your meal. When we reached the attendant we explained we both had food allergies, he recommended speaking to a chef as the kiosks are not the most efficient way to order when you have a food allergy. The chef came out and spoke with us, he was thorough and accommodating in his explanations of the menu. I ordered the Croque Monsieur on gluten-free bread, which came with a side of fries made in a dedicated fryer. For dessert I got the Lemon Raspberry cream puff. I had inquired about whether the gray stuff could be made gluten-free, after all, who doesn’t want to see if the grey stuff is truly delicious? I had seen online that other guests were able to have a gluten-free version of the grey stuff, however the chef stated preparing it was very time-consuming and I would have had to call ahead for them to prepare it. I was a little disappointed at that, I would have called if I had known. The Croque Monsieur was delicious, though admittedly it’s really just a fancy grilled ham and cheese sandwich. My dessert was definitely lack luster, I would recommend asking for sorbet over the Lemon Raspberry cream puff. The pastry itself was dry and flavorless, the cream inside was a very tart lemon flavor and did not compliment the pastry well at all. I wound up eating the whipped cream and fresh raspberry off the top and leaving the rest… whoops! In my opinion, dining at Be Our Guest is more for the experience and not the food quality. Having now done it once, I probably wouldn’t make it a priority on my next trip.

If you’re an avid Disney goer you’ve surely heard of Dole Whip at this point. We were sure to stop off in Adventure land and pick up this delicious frozen treat which is both gluten-free and dairy free. We couldn’t resist digging in before I was able to get a picture! Dole whip is a delicious creamy pineapple dessert, It comes on its own, as a twist, and as a float. I often like to enjoy it as a twist with vanilla ice cream, however opted for the plain version since I was splitting it with my dairy free friend. I recommend giving the twist or float a try if you haven’t already! The stand is located right but the Aladdin Magic Carpet ride across from Jungle Cruise.

For dinner we resort hopped over to Port Orleans French Quarter. The main reason we chose to eat there was I’ve been dying to try their gluten-free Beignets! These delicious fried treats are exclusively served at Port Orleans French Quarter and are a true hidden treasure. I had NO IDEA that they served these here despite previously staying across the bayou at Port Orleans Riverside in 2014! The Beignets are best consumed hot, they were light and flakey and generously heaped with powder sugar. They did come with a chocolate sauce but I think I preferred them on their own. We did also eat dinner there, I got ribs, mashed potatoes, and carrots. They were good but not exceptional. The true star at this location is surely dessert!


Leave a comment